February 2017: The Month in Tom and Holly

Life in Philly

At the beginning of the month, we attended Philadelphia’s March for Humanity.

We saw a few movies in the theater, including LaLa Land and a 25th anniversary screening of Wayne’s World. Both were kind of disappointing. Luckily we redeemed this by seeing Hidden Figures at the end of the month, which was wonderful.

Due to my dentist’s referral after an oddity in my x-ray, I saw an oral surgeon, who diagnosed me with a benign cyst, which I’ll need to get removed. I had scheduled the removal but came down with nasty flu and had to cancel. Being sick again so soon after the rotten cold I had over the holidays was a drag.

The weather is crazy. We had a NorEaster, giving us the first snow day (only a delayed opening for me, I still had to go to work at 11am) of the season. The snow didn’t last long, though, and by the end of the month we basically had an early spring, with weather in the 70s, and daffodils blooming.

snowy Penn, February 9
daffodils in Fitler Square, February 25
daffodils in Fitler Square, February 25

Farmers’ Markets

I didn’t end up taking any pictures this month, but this time of year the markets aren’t too exciting. Here’s a squash, which ended up becoming soup:

Dining In

I continue to do recipe testing for a friend of mine who is starting a food blog. This month’s recipes included:

Sliced eggs with garlic & parsley
Sliced eggs with garlic & parsley
Roasted beet salad with garlic cumin vinaigrette
Roasted beet salad with garlic cumin vinaigrette
fruit tart in a nut crust
fruit tart in a nut crust

Other than that, highlights from dining in this month included:

dan dan noodles. Photo by Tom Ipri
dan dan noodles. Photo by Tom Ipri
roasted chicken with clementines
roasted chicken with clementines
mushroom ragu
mushroom ragu
charmoula-spiced salmon with za'atar vegetables
charmoula-spiced salmon with za’atar vegetables

Dining Out

We barely went out this month, except for Tom’s birthday (below). All we really did was go out for drinks a few times at Tria Fitler Square and Friday Saturday Sunday. One Friday night we intended to go out for date night but just ended up ordering Rosario’s Pizza for delivery instead.

beers at Tria Fitler Square
beers at Tria Fitler Square
Carrot Confit at Friday Saturday Sunday
Carrot Confit at Friday Saturday Sunday
cocktails at Friday Saturday Sunday
cocktails at Friday Saturday Sunday

Tom’s Birthday, Part 1

Since Tom’s birthday fell in the middle of the week toward the end of the month, Part 1 was in February and Part 2 will be in March. To kick off his birthday celebrations, we went to an “old world vs. new world” tasting at Jet Wine Bar, followed by beers at Rex 1516.

new lamps at Jet Wine Bar. Photo by Tom Ipri
new lamps at Jet Wine Bar. Photo by Tom Ipri

The weekend before Tom’s birthday, we celebrated with family at Radice. I also tried to make a special birthday brunch dish of Spanish breakfast casserole, but since it got burnt to a crisp, Tom will get a second birthday brunch next weekend!

Spanish breakfast casserole
Spanish breakfast casserole

Tom’s actual birthday fell on a Tuesday night, which was nice because it was a good reason to go to Cafe Lutecia‘s BYOB night. It was also Mardi Gras so Cafe Lutecia had some themed decor and food.

Cafe Lutecia
Cafe Lutecia

To be continued in March!

DIY

I continued fermenting the batch of garlic honey that I started in January. It was still really bubbly and frothy at the beginning of the month, but mid-month it calmed down. 2 more months to go!

garlic honey, day 5
garlic honey, day 5
garlic honey, day 20 or so
garlic honey, day 20 or so

I also made a batch of butternut squash kimchi:

Tom made a few more successful attempts at bread, including rosemary focaccia and pita bread!

rosemary focaccia
rosemary focaccia
pita! Photo by Tom Ipri
pita! Photo by Tom Ipri

Books

In the beginning of the month I finished Octavia Butler’s Dawn and then read the rest of Lilith’s Brood, which was really great. I skimmed through Carrie Fisher’s The Princess Diarist and was too bored to finish. I started The Handmaid’s Tale, which is so disturbing and scary and hits way too close to home. So I’m still working on that.

About midway through the month, Tom and I both bought Kindles! We had been meaning to do so for a long time. I was particularly curious as to whether it would help me with 1) getting more comfortable with e-reading and 2) encourage me to read more. It’s still new, but so far I have found both to be the case. In the future, I think I’d like to upgrade to a fancier Kindle so that I can read color comic books, but in the meantime, even the low-end Kindle is really great.

With the Kindle, I read a few Star Wars novels that were next on my list, including Lost Stars and Ahsoka. Toward the end of the month I started Half Resurrection Blues by Daniel José Older.

Last Month’s Update

Leave a Reply

